Chronicles of Nadia; Don’t Fence Me In

We use a baby gate for Nadia to keep her from getting into trouble, like being able to climb up the steps but not knowing how to get back down (if she’s upstairs, we carry her back downstairs).

This morning, I went upstairs with the intent of coming back downstairs right away, so I propped the gate up without fastening it down. Once upstairs, I decided to get dressed. I remembered I didn’t fasten the gate. I didn’t worry because I knew Nadia would walk to the gate, but she wouldn’t touch it or knock it down because the resulting noise would scare her (she’s still timid when it comes to certain sounds and objects).

How many times have I approached a barrier in my life, accepting the gate was locked, not recognizing the latch was undone? Fear kept me from touching or knocking down the barrier that would allow me to get to the other side.

Needless to say, I went back downstairs to fasten the latch. Nadia is still timid, but she never ceases to amaze me with her ever-growing courage.

 

For we walk by faith, not by sight.  

                                  2 Corinthians 5:7

   

Leave a Reply

