Delays of the Day

What a day. Getting ready for a client visit, there was so much to do and I had my agenda set. That was until traffic was so thick that I was late to my first store call.  As I straightened, filled and tweaked product sets, all the while trying to dodge shopping carts driven by customers on a mission to pick up food for Easter Sunday and being stopped by people looking for Velveeta and milk with the green lid, my time seemed to be swallowed by the busyness of the day. Between crowds and the work, I was late to almost every call I scheduled, which caused me to freak out internally.

Finally, the end of the day. I treated myself to well- deserved Mexican wedding cookies and a Cherry Coke. As I stood in line waiting to pay for my treats, I watched men lift hams out of their carts and moms chatting with their kids about coloring eggs. All I could think of was being smack dab in the middle of rush hour traffic. My cookies and Cherry Coke would get me through!

Well into my ride and with treats devoured, I was about 20 minutes from home, singing and unwinding from the day. Cars in front of me were slowing and switching to the farthest left lane. Only as I approached did I see a four car accident; a pick-up truck t-boned a little Honda, leaving the other two cars flung to the side of the road. At that moment, the light turned red. I saw crash survivors out of their cars, on the phone to police, family and friends, no doubt. A woman staggered out of the driver’s side of her car in disbelief.

I had a close-up view of the Honda; driver’s side airbag deployed, the side and front end destroyed. The former insurance professional in me couldn’t figure out how it happened, based on the position of the cars. I said a prayer for everyone involved, especially whoever was in the Honda.

Then I thought, “What if my day had gone smooth, according to my plan?” What if the line at the grocery store had been a littler shorter, moved a little faster? Could that have been me on the side of the road or could my Mitsubishi have been in the Honda’s position? At that moment, when the light turned green, I was thankful for the delays of the day.  

Leave a Reply

